Gator Football Week 4 Preview: Kentucky

Fuckbeans.
DocZaius

Post by DocZaius »

The year was 1993. I was a sophomore attending a small liberal-arts college in Lexington, Kentucky. A fat chick I knew had tickets to the Florida-UK game, so I graciously accepted her invitation to attend the game.

Our seats were in the end zone. The Gators, as they sometimes do, were stinking it up the entire game. Quarterback Terry Dean was benched in favor of a redshirt freshman named Danny Wuerffel, but neither played great: they combined for a total of 7 interceptions during the game. Late in the fourth quarter, Kentucky was winning, 20-17.

A drunk Wildcat fan, spotting my orange Florida hat floating among a sea of blue and white, started heckling me. Over and over again, he shouted, "WHERE'S YOUR SHANE MATTHEWS NOW!? WHERE'S YOUR SHANE MATTHEWS NOW?!"

And then... THE CATCH. With only 8 seconds remaining in the game, Wuerffel lofted a 28-yard touchdown pass to a walk-on wide receiver named Chris Doering, lifting the Gators to a 24-20 victory.

I jumped up, raised my arms and shouted a victory cry. I'm sure my orange cap and joyous ejaculations presented a stark contrast to the slack-jawed yokels in blue who surrounded me, now silent and dejected. I turned to my tormentor, several rows away, and taunted him mercilessly. I don't quite remember what I said, but I do remember giving him the finger.

He didn't respond. When the final seconds ticked off the clock, he silently filed out of the stadium along with all the other Kentucky faithful.

That was my first away game. Here's the final Florida drive:

[video=youtube;h1TFthJbdYE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1TFthJbdYE[/video]

Despite a heartbreaking loss to Auburn, Florida went on to win its first SEC Championship Game that year, beating Alabama 28-13 in Birmingham. The Gators also dominated the Sugar Bowl, beating the #3 West Virginia Mountaineers 41-7.